Breaking News

2027 Women's World Cup

Europe and Americas fight to host 2027 Women’s World Cup

Brussels, December 08, 2023, The Europe Today: FIFA’s deadline to submit bids to host the 2027 Women’s World Cup expired on Friday.

The United States and Mexico submitted a joint bid, as did Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium.

Brazil applied to host the competition in its own right.

South Africa had originally been expected to bid to host the tournament, too, but it withdrew its proposal in October.

What does the US and Mexico bid promise?
The US hosted the 1999 and 2003 women’s World Cups, and is set to host its second men’s World Cup — alongside Mexico and Canada — in 2026.

Although no proposed stadiums were announced in the US Soccer Federation’s (USSF) and Mexico’s proposal they said they would seek to take advantage of the efficiencies from the 2026 World Cup.